Policy Book

The Policy Book provides a comprehensive description of our policies and requirements for certification and maintenance of certification programs. We publish our policies annually online. Please click on the image below to view the book.

2018 Policy Book

This book contains the policies and procedures for the following certification programs:

- Traditional Exams (Part 1 and Part 2 Exams)
- Staged Exams (BASIC, ADVANCED and APPLIED Exams)
- MOCA 2.0 (for maintaining anesthesiology and subspecialty certifications)
- Traditional MOCA program
- Subspecialty Certification Exams (Critical Care Medicine, Pain Medicine, Hospice and Palliative Medicine, Sleep Medicine, and Pediatric Anesthesiology Exams)
- Subspecialty Recertification

Anesthesiologists and Capital Punishment

The ABA has incorporated the AMA’s Code of Medical Ethics in its Professional Standing Policy. ABA certification includes more than passing examinations; it also includes maintaining high professional and ethical standards. Specifically, it is the ABA’s Professional Standing Policy that diplomates should use their clinical skills and judgment for promoting an individual's health and welfare. To do otherwise would undermine a basic ethical foundation of medicine which is – first do no harm. If diplomates of the ABA participate in an execution by lethal injection, they may be subject to disciplinary action, including revocation of their ABA diplomate status. Click here for additional information on anesthesiologists and capital punishment.