Pain Medicine (PM) Recertification Examination

The PM Recertification Examination is a four-hour computer-based exam that consists of 200 multiple-choice questions, each with a single best answer. All 200 questions must be answered. The exam is designed to evaluate the diplomate’s knowledge and clinical judgment in all areas specific to pain medicine. We administer the exam annually at Pearson VUE testing centers.

The subspecialty recertification program is in the process of transitioning to MOCA 2.0®.

If your PM certification expired on or before Dec. 31, 2016

You must pass the PM recertification exam (offered in 2017 and 2018). When you pass the exam, you will be eligible to register for MOCA 2.0. If you do not pass the exam by Dec. 31, 2018, you will be required to reestablish eligibility for entrance into the initial subspecialty certification examination system (see the Subspecialty Certification Policy Book).

If your PM certification expires on Dec. 31, 2017 or later

You will register for MOCA 2.0 in 2017 in your portal account each year and will complete all MOCA 2.0 requirements, including participating in MOCA Minute®, before your current certificate expires. You'll pay the annual MOCA 2.0 fee every year you participate in the program. Learn about MOCA 2.0.

Only Maintaining Subspecialty Certification

If you are only maintaining your subspecialty certification:

  • and it expires on Dec. 31, 2017, click here to see your MOCA 2.0 requirements.

  • and it expires on Dec. 31, 2018, click here to see your MOCA 2.0 requirements.

  • and it expires on Dec. 31, 2019, click here to see your MOCA 2.0 requirements.