About MOCA 2.0®

The redesigned Maintenance of Certification in Anesthesiology Program (MOCA), MOCA 2.0®, provides diplomates with opportunities to continuously learn and demonstrate proficiencies to provide better patient care. It offers a more relevant and personalized approach to helping diplomates assess their knowledge and address knowledge gaps. MOCA 2.0 is a web-based learning platform. At its core is the MOCA Minute®, an interactive learning tool the ABA is piloting to replace the decennial MOCA exam.


Eligibility for MOCA 2.0®

All diplomates with time-limited certificates that expire in 2016 or after can register for MOCA 2.0 in their ABA portal account, as can diplomates with non-time limited certificates who are participating in MOCA. Diplomates with non-time limited certificates (those certified before 2000) who are not enrolled in MOCA can voluntarily register for MOCA 2.0. Click here to access the MOCA 2.0 Registration page, which includes step-by-step instructions and a video about the registration process.


Videos, Presentations and Additional Information

MOCA 2.0 Online Forum

Why is the ABA Changing MOCA?

Additional Information


What is changing between MOCA and MOCA 2.0?

  MOCA MOCA 2.0 (Beginning in 2016)
PART 1: Professionalism and Professional Standing (PPS) Hold an active, unrestricted license to practice medicine in at least one jurisdiction of the United States (U.S.) or Canada. Furthermore, all U.S. and Canadian medical licenses that a diplomate holds must be unrestricted. No changes
PART 2: Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment (LLS) 250 Category 1 CMEs of which 90 must be ABA-approved Self-Assessment CMEs and 20 must be ABA-approved Patient Safety CMEs 250 Category 1 CMEs of which 20 must be ABA-approved Patient Safety CMEs. Self-Assessment CMEs are no longer required.
If you previously completed Self-Assessment CMEs, you will get credit for them in MOCA 2.0.
PART 3: Assessment of Knowledge, Judgment, and Skills (KJS) Pass the MOCA Exam once every 10 years. MOCA Minute is being piloted to replace the MOCA exam.
Diplomates must answer 30 questions per calendar quarter (120 per year).
PART 4: Improvements in Medical Practice (IMP) Complete both a case evaluation and a simulation course during the 10-year cycle. One activity must be completed between Years 1 to 5, and the second between Years 6 to 10. An attestation is due in Year 9. More options for activities with points awarded for each activity based on the time and effort associated with their completion. Diplomates must complete 25 points in Years 1-5 and 25 points in Years 6-10 for a total of 50 points per 10-year cycle. Click here for more details.
Fee $2,100 fee paid once every 10 years $210 annual participation fee

Reporting of MOCA Participation

The Physician Directory located on our homepage indicates whether a diplomate is or is not “Participating in MOCA.” Diplomates are considered to be “Participating in MOCA” if they answer 120 MOCA Minute questions each year and, by the end of the fifth year of their MOCA cycle, they have satisfactory professional standing, have completed half of their CME credits and have completed 25 points of Part 4 activities. All requirements must be completed by the end of the tenth year of the MOCA program.

The directory notes that diplomates who hold non-time limited certificates are not required to participate in MOCA.