Critical Care Medicine Clinical Competency

We consider clinical competence in an anesthesiology subspecialty to be an initial step toward subspecialty board certification. Fellowship training in critical care medicine must follow completion of the continuum of education in anesthesiology unless our Credentials Committee prospectively approves a different training sequence.
Certified anesthesiologists (“diplomates”) must be capable of performing independently the entire scope of the anesthesiology subspecialty practice without accommodations or with reasonable accommodation. They must also be free from influence of or dependency on chemical substances that impair cognitive, physical, sensory or motor functions.

We require each fellowship program to electronically submit an evaluation of clinical competence in January and July for each fellow who has spent any portion of the prior six months in subspecialty training in or under the sponsorship of the fellowship program and its affiliates.

Grading Overall Clinical Competence

Programs complete the evaluation of clinical competency form by selecting an overall grade of Satisfactory (S): Consistently meets reasonable expectations or Unsatisfactory (U): Often fails short of reasonable expectations.

  • The grade for overall clinical competence can be satisfactory only if the grade for every essential attribute is satisfactory.

Essential Attributes

The physician who lacks one or more of the following attributes is not considered qualified to safely practice anesthesiology.

  1. Demonstrates high standards of ethical and moral behavior.
  2. Demonstrates honesty, integrity, reliability, and responsibility.
  3. Learns from experience; knows limits.
  4. Reacts to stressful situations in an appropriate manner.
  5. Has no documented current abuse of alcohol or illegal use of drugs.
  6. Has no cognitive or physical impairment that precludes acquiring and processing information in an independent and timely manner without accommodation or with reasonable accommodation.
  7. Demonstrates respect for the dignity of patients and colleagues, and sensitivity to a diverse patient population.