Hospice & Palliative Medicine Clinical Competency

The ABA considers clinical competence in an anesthesiology subspecialty an initial step toward subspecialty certification. Fellowship training in hospice and palliative medicine must follow completion of the continuum of education in anesthesiology unless the ABA Credentials Committee prospectively approves a different training sequence for the fellow.

Clinical competence evaluation categories include the following essential attributes:
  • Patient Care
  • Medical Knowledge
  • Practice-Based Learning and Improvement
  • Interpersonal and Communication Skills
  • Professionalism
  • Systems-Based Practice