## THE AMERICAN BOARD OF ANESTHESIOLOGY, INC.

A MEMBER BOARD OF THE AMERICAN BOARD OF MEDICAL SPECIALTIES

Advancing the Highest Standards of the Practice of Anesthesiology

April 20, 2016

Governor Pat McCrory North Carolina Office of the Governor 20301 Mail Service Center Raleigh, N.C. 27699-0301

Re: HB2

Dear Governor McCrory,

On behalf of the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA), which is headquartered in North Carolina, I would like to express our profound disappointment over the recently passed HB2, which endangers our ability to effectively conduct our affairs in this state.

The ABA sets the national standard for the practice of anesthesiology and certifies physicians who meet its distinction of excellence, which goes beyond state licensure. As the certifying board for more than 50,000 anesthesiologists nationwide, we host thousands of physicians in our Raleigh offices and Assessment Center each year for policy meetings and examinations. While HB2 was signed into legislation only three weeks ago, we already have had physicians tell us that their ability to travel to North Carolina to conduct business with us has been challenged by their employers as a result of the new law.

The ABA respectfully requests that you work with the General Assembly to repeal HB2 before it does irreparable damage to North Carolina and the ability of organizations like ours to successfully operate. We are a mission-driven institution dedicated to setting the highest standards for practicing physicians and we would hope this legislation does not hinder our ability to meet this mission. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Games P. Rathmed. no

James P. Rathmell, M.D. Secretary

cc: Rep. Brig Gen (Ret) Gary Pendleton Sen. John M. Alexander, Jr.

## **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

President Cynthia A. Lien, M.D. New York, NY

Vice President Brenda G. Fahy, M.D. Gainesville, FL

Secretary James P. Rathmell, M.D. Boston, MA

Treasurer Daniel J. Cole, M.D. Los Angeles, CA

J. Jeffrey Andrews, M.D. San Antonio, TX

Deborah J. Culley, M.D. Boston, MA

Rupa J. Dainer, M.D. Fairfax, VA

Robert R. Gaiser, M.D. Philadelphia, PA

William W. Hesson, J.D. Iowa City, IA

Thomas M. McLoughlin, Jr., M.D. Allentown, PA

Andrew J. Patterson, M.D., Ph.D. Omaha, NE

Santhanam Suresh, M.D. Chicago, IL

David O. Warner, M.D. Rochester, MN

## **EXECUTIVE STAFF**

Executive Director, Administrative Affairs Mary E. Post, M.B.A., C.A.E.

Executive Director, Professional Affairs Daniel J. Cole, M.D.