Anesthesiology Clinical Competency

We consider clinical competence in anesthesiology to be an initial step toward board certification. The clinical anesthesia residency is intended to provide education and experience in the science and practice anesthesiology. During training, the residency program faculty instructs and observes residents to assist in the development of qualities essential to becoming board certified.

Because of the nature of anesthesia practice, certified anesthesiologists (“diplomates”) must be able to deal with emergent life-threatening situations independently, promptly and efficiently. The ability to acquire and process information in an independent and timely manner is central to assure individual responsibility for all aspects of anesthesiology care. Diplomates must be capable of performing independently the entire scope of anesthesiology practice without accommodations or with reasonable accommodation. They must also be free from influence of or dependency on chemical substances that impair cognitive, physical, sensory or motor functions.
We require each residency program to electronically submit an evaluation of clinical competence in January and July for each resident who has spent any portion of the prior six months in clinical anesthesia training in or under the sponsorship of the residency program and its affiliates.

Grading Overall Clinical Competence

Programs complete the evaluation of clinical competency form by selecting an overall grade of Satisfactory (S): Consistently meets reasonable expectations or Unsatisfactory (U): Often fails short of reasonable expectations.

  • The grade for overall clinical competence can be satisfactory only if the grade for every essential attribute is satisfactory.
  • The grade for overall clinical competence will be unsatisfactory if the resident fails the BASIC Examination two or more times. 

Essential Attributes

The physician who lacks one or more of the following attributes is not considered qualified to safely practice anesthesiology.

  1. Demonstrates high standards of ethical and moral behavior.
  2. Demonstrates honesty, integrity, reliability, and responsibility.
  3. Learns from experience; knows limits.
  4. Reacts to stressful situations in an appropriate manner.
  5. Has no documented current abuse of alcohol or illegal use of drugs.
  6. Has no cognitive or physical impairment that precludes acquiring and processing information in an independent and timely manner without accommodation or with reasonable accommodation.
  7. Demonstrates respect for the dignity of patients and colleagues, and sensitivity to a diverse patient population.