October 08, 2018

ABA Elects New Board Officers

We are pleased to announce the elections of Brenda G. Fahy, M.D., as the Board’s president and David O. Warner, M.D., as the vice president. Both directors officially began their roles following the fall 2018 Board meeting.

Dr. Fahy is a professor of anesthesiology at the University of Florida and associate chair and division chief, Anesthesiology Critical Care. She is the medical director of Critical Care Medicine-Anesthesiology Clinical Services Care at Shands Hospital at the University of Florida. Dr. Fahy also serves as program director for the Combined Critical Care Adult Cardiothoracic and Critical Care Medicine Fellowships. Her research is dedicated to studies in the critically ill patient population and multidisciplinary translational research teams as well as educational studies.

She earned her bachelor’s degree in engineering from Pennsylvania State University and her doctor of medicine degree from Thomas Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia.

Dr. Fahy serves on our Assessments, Research and Critical Care Medicine Examination Committees. She holds ABA certification in anesthesiology (1990) and critical care medicine (1991) and participates in MOCA 2.0®. Dr. Fahy has two children and lives with her husband in Gainesville, Fla.

Dr. Warner is a professor of anesthesiology, clinician investigator and consultant for the Department of Anesthesiology at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn., where he practices pediatric anesthesiology. He directs the Mayo Clinic Office of Health Disparities Research and Anesthesia Clinical Research Unit. He is also the associate director of the Mayo Clinic Center for Clinical and Translational Sciences. His research interests include respiratory physiology, outcomes of anesthesia and surgery, tobacco control, neurotoxicity of anesthetics and substance use disorders.

He earned his bachelor’s degree in engineering from Ohio State University, where he also earned his doctor of medicine degree. He completed his residency in anesthesiology at Mayo Graduate School of Medicine in Rochester, Minn.

Dr. Warner serves as chair of our OSCE Committee and is a member of the Assessments, ADVANCED Examination and Social, Technological, Economic, Environmental, and Political Factors (STEEP) Advisory Committees. He holds ABA certification in anesthesiology (1988) and pediatric anesthesiology (2014), and participates in MOCA 2.0. Dr. Warner and his wife live in Rochester, Minn., and have three children.

The Board reelected Deborah J. Culley, M.D., as secretary and Santhanam Suresh, M.D., as treasurer.