February 15, 2021

ABA Welcomes New Directors to the Board

Raleigh, N.C. (February 15, 2021) – The American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) is pleased to announce the elections of Mohammed M. Minhaj, M.D., MBA; and Vivek K. Moitra, M.D., to our board of directors. Drs. Minhaj and Moitra will officially begin their terms as diplomate -directors following the fall 2021 Board meeting.

Dr. Minhaj specializes in cardiothoracic anesthesia and is a professor in the Department of Anesthesia & Critical Care at the University of Chicago, where he is also a member of the cardiothoracic and obstetric anesthesia divisions. He also serves as president of the Medical Staff Organization at UChicago Medicine. Prior to his appointment on the board, Dr. Minhaj served as an ABA exam writer and editor and is a member of the ABA’s Objective Structured Clinical Examination, Research, and In-Training Examination Committees.

Dr. Minhaj earned his Doctor of Medicine degree from the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine and is a fellow of the Academy of Distinguished Medical Educators at the Pritzker School of Medicine, the American Society of Anesthesiologists and the American College of Healthcare Executives. He holds ABA certification in anesthesiology (2005) and participates in MOCA 2.0® to maintain his certification.

Dr. Moitra specializes in critical care medicine and serves as the chair of the ABA’s Critical Care Medicine Exam Committee and as an associate examiner.  He is currently the Allen I. Hyman, M.D. Professor of Critical Care Anesthesiology at Columbia University Medical Center, where he also serves as the critical care medicine division chief, co-medical director of the surgical intensive care unit and program director of Columbia University’s Critical Care Medicine Fellowship.

Dr. Moitra earned his Doctor of Medicine degree from Tulane University School of Medicine. He holds ABA certifications in anesthesiology (2006) and critical care medicine (2006) and participates in MOCA 2.0® to maintain his certifications.

Drs. Minhaj and Moitra succeed Deborah J. Culley, M.D., and James P. Rathmell, M.D., who are completing their 12-year tenure on the board this fall.

About the American Board of Anesthesiology

Our mission is to advance the highest standards of the practice of anesthesiology. As the certifying body for anesthesiologists since 1938, we work with physicians to elevate practice standards and foster exceptional patient care. We administer initial and subspecialty certification exams as well as the Maintenance of Certification in Anesthesiology® (MOCA®) program, which is designed to promote lifelong learning, a commitment to quality clinical outcomes and patient safety. Based in Raleigh, N.C., we are a nonprofit organization and a Member Board of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS).