February 10, 2022

ABA Elects New Directors to the Board

Raleigh. N.C., Feb. 10, 2022 – We are pleased to announce the elections of Christian Diez, M.D., and Jill Eckert, D.O., to our Board of Directors. Drs. Diez and Eckert will officially begin their terms as physician directors following the fall 2022 board meeting in October.

Dr. Christian Diez is vice chair for Clinical Affairs in the Department of Anesthesiology and associate professor of clinical anesthesiology at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine. He obtained his bachelor’s, medical, and master’s in business administration degrees from the University of Miami. He completed his anesthesiology residency at the University of Miami/Jackson Memorial Hospital.

Dr. Diez is an associate examiner for the American Board of Anesthesiology and serves as a committee chair for the American Society of Anesthesiologists. He specializes in trauma anesthesiology, in which he has assisted overseas, and was selected by the Department of Health and Human Services to serve on its Multi-Specialty Enhancement Team. In addition, he is past president of the Florida Society of Anesthesiologists. He lives in Miami with his wife and three daughters.

Dr. Jill Eckert is an associate professor of Anesthesiology, vice-chair for Residency and Education at the Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine at Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center. She also serves as the Program Director of the Residency Program.

Dr. Eckert specializes in Pain Management. During her esteemed 22-year career, Dr. Eckert’s research has been published and cited numerous times across multiple scholarly journals, books and manuscripts. She received her medical degree from Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine. She completed her anesthesiology residency and fellowship in chronic pain management at Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine. Dr. Eckert is an oral board examiner and author for the American Board of Anesthesiology and serves as pain medicine examination question author and committee member.

Drs. Diez and Eckert succeed David Warner, M.D., and Santhanam Suresh, M.D., MBA. We are grateful to Drs. Warner and Suresh for their remarkable service and dedication to our mission throughout their tenure as members of our board. We look forward to welcoming our new leaders later this year.