If you were awarded primary certification in anesthesiology in 2000 or later, we automatically enrolled you in the Maintenance of Certification in Anesthesiology Program (MOCA) to help you maintain your time-limited certification. If you were certified before 2000, your certification is not time-limited, but we highly encourage you to take advantage of the MOCA program to stay on the forefront of current anesthesiology practices.

If you’re a diplomate and have completed a fellowship, you can register for a subspecialty certification exam. We currently offer subspecialty certification in:
  • Critical Care Medicine
  • Hospice and Palliative Medicine
  • Pain Medicine
  • Pediatric Anesthesiology
  • Sleep Medicine
To keep you up-to-date on your diplomate status, we will send you emails with reminders, policy updates and other helpful information.  Each time you log into your ABA portal account, please verify your email address, mailing address and other contact information. This will ensure that you receive all communications about your diplomate status and your MOCA requirements.  

Each year we exhibit at the annual meetings of several anesthesiology organizations. Please stop by the ABA booth at the following meetings for assistance with your MOCA requirements or your portal account.
  • Society for Pediatric Anesthesia (SPA)
  • International Anesthesia Research Society (IARS)
  • Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists (SCA)
  • American Society of Regional Anesthesia (ASRA)
  • American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA)
  • New York State Society of Anesthesiologists Post Graduate Assembly (NYSSA PGA)