Continuing Medical Education: 10-Year Cycle

Keep your skills up to date by participating in educational activities

Get Started

Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits are earned by participating in educational activities designed to refresh and hone your skills

Fulfilling this requirement

Every five years, you will need to earn 125 Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits.

Earn 125 credits

How CME credits work

You can earn up to 60 credits per year for those completed in or after 2013. Approved CME-credited activities should be Category 1:

  • ACCME/AMA PRA-approved
  • American Osteopathic Association Category 1-A
  • Accredited CPD credits issued by the Royal College of Physicians of Canada and the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada

CME Explorer

Use our CME Explorer to find relevant learning activities. Completed activities found in the CME Explorer are submitted directly to us for you and are not subject to audit.

Over 800 Category 1 CME activities are searchable and link directly to the CME provider’s site. 108 CME providers across the country contribute to the online catalog. Best of all, you can find the CME Explorer on the homepage of the ABA GO portal.

Find ABA-certified patient safety credits through CME Passport. Every 10 years, diplomates are required to have 20 ABA-approved patient safety CME credits.

Are you a CME provider looking to build MOCA-approved programs for anesthesiologists?