Subspecialty Certification

Distinguish your career with subspecialty certification

Elevate your expertise by earning a subspecialty certification in critical care medicine, pain medicine, hospice and palliative medicine, sleep medicine, pediatric anesthesiology, neurocritical care or adult cardiac anesthesiology.


How subspecialties work

Qualified diplomates from the ABA and other Member Boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties take the same exam for their subspecialty— and are held to the same passing standard. All of our exams consist of multiple-choice questions designed to evaluate physicians’ knowledge and clinical judgment in the subspecialty area.


If you complete 12 months of fellowship training in an ACGME-accredited subspecialty program, we’ll award you up to 50 CME credits toward MOCA if your fellowship was completed in or after the year you were certified in anesthesiology.

Need to cancel a test or apply for accommodations?

Exam Resources

Reach out with any questions you may have about subspecialty exams