August 31, 2015

MOCA 2.0® Update: Changes to Parts 2 & 4


Dear Diplomates,

The American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) will launch MOCA 2.0®, the redesigned Maintenance of Certification in Anesthesiology Program® (MOCA®), on Jan. 4, 2016. As part of this effort, we are making changes to MOCA Parts 2 and 4, and wanted to share the details with you.

Part 2: Lifelong Learning & Self-Assessment
In MOCA 2.0, earning self-assessment CME credits will no longer be required (for those who had this requirement). Diplomates who have already completed self-assessment CMEs will get credit for them in MOCA 2.0. All MOCA participants will still be required to complete 250 Category 1 CME credits, including 20 patient safety CMEs.

The Board is making this change because the new MOCA Minute® pilot can serve as a self-assessment tool for our diplomates. MOCA Minute is being piloted to replace the decennial MOCA exam as the Part 3: Assessment of Knowledge, Judgment, and Skills requirement in MOCA 2.0 and will help the ABA gauge diplomates’ proficiency and medical knowledge over time.

Part 4: Improvement in Medical Practice
In MOCA 2.0, the ABA will expand the list of Part 4 activities and implement a point system that will require diplomates to accumulate 25 points per five-year period (50 points for a 10-year cycle). Diplomates were surveyed earlier this summer to get their opinions on what activities should be considered for Part 4 credit. Many of their suggestions were incorporated into the final MOCA 2.0 Part 4 activity list. Click here to see the list, which goes into effect in January 2016.

The ABA is developing templates for diplomates to use to submit their Part 4 activities for credit Templates will be available on the ABA website in January 2016 for all Part 4 activities that require diplomates to self-report their activity.

Diplomates will still be required to complete their Part 4 attestations (clinical activity verification); however, no points will be awarded for this activity. Diplomates who have already completed their Part 4 requirements in the current MOCA program will get credit for those activities in MOCA 2.0 and will have no more Part 4 requirements to fulfill until their new MOCA cycle begins.

The current MOCA requirements remain in effect until Dec. 31, 2015. Diplomates who need to complete requirements before Dec. 31 to maintain their certificate should do so to avoid jeopardizing their certification status. The requirements for diplomates who are subspecialty certified will not change until MOCA 2.0 for subspecialties launches in 2017.

For more information, click here to learn more about MOCA 2.0. If you have any questions, please contact the ABA’s Communications Center at (866) 999-7501 or via email at for assistance Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. ET.

James P. Rathmell, M.D.