November 07, 2019

ABA Elects New Board Officers

11/7/19 – We are pleased to announce the elections of Deborah J. Culley, M.D., as the Board’s president, Andrew J. Patterson, M.D., Ph.D., as the vice president and and David O. Warner, M.D., as the secretary. All three directors officially began their roles following the fall 2019 Board meeting.

Dr. Culley is an attending physician and vice chair of research at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston and an associate professor of anesthesiology at Harvard Medical School in Boston. She serves on the Board’s Credentialing and Continuing Certification and Research Committees. Dr. Culley serves as chair of the Academic Anesthesiology Committee of the American Society of Anesthesiologists.

She is a past president of the Society of Neuroscience in Anesthesiology and Critical Care, serves on the executive editorial board of Anesthesiology and is currently funded by the National Institute on Aging to study the effects of baseline cognitive impairment on outcomes in older surgical patients.

Dr. Patterson is professor and chair of the department of anesthesiology at Emory University School of Medicine in Atlanta, GA. His clinical focus includes critical care medicine, as well as intraoperative anesthesia care for thoracic and vascular surgery. His research interests include adrenergic receptor biology, vascular biology, hemodynamic physiology and pharmacology, as well as the cardiovascular impact of sepsis.

Dr. Patterson is chair of the Board’s Credentialing and Continuing Certification Committee and serves on its Social, Technological, Economic, Environmental, and Political Factors (STEEP) Advisory and Standardized Oral Examination Committees.

Dr. Warner is a professor of anesthesiology, clinician investigator and consultant for the department of anesthesiology at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn., where he practices pediatric anesthesiology. He is the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs for the Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine, and is the associate director of the Mayo Clinic Center for Clinical and Translational Sciences.

He serves on the Board’s Credentialing and Continuing Certification,  OSCE, ADVANCED Exam, and STEEP Advisory Committees. Dr. Warner’s research interests include respiratory physiology, outcomes of anesthesia and surgery, tobacco control, neurotoxicity of anesthetics and substance use disorders.

The Board reelected Santhanam Suresh, M.D., M.B.A., as treasurer.

Dr. Suresh is the Arthur C. King Professor and chair of the department of pediatric anesthesiology at the Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago (formerly Children’s Memorial Hospital) and is a professor of pediatrics and anesthesiology at Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine.

Dr. Suresh serves on the Board’s Assessments, Research and Pediatric Anesthesiology Examination Committees. He also serves as co-chair of the SmartTots PPP Steering Committee, as chair of the Educational Track Subcommittee on Pediatric Anesthesia for the American Society of Anesthesiologists and on the board of trustees for the International Anesthesia Research Society. He is also a member of the Anesthesiology Residency Review Committee of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education Anesthesiology.