October 2, 2023

ABA Elects New 2023-24 Board Officers

We are pleased to announce the elections of President Thomas M. McLoughlin Jr., M.D., Vice President Stacie G. Deiner, M.D., and Treasurer Mark T. Keegan, M.B., B.Ch. All three directors began their roles following the fall 2023 Board of Directors meeting.

Dr. McLoughlin is chair of the Department of Anesthesiology for Lehigh Valley Health Network and a professor of surgery in the Division of Surgical Anesthesiology at the University of South Florida College of Medicine. His clinical practice emphasizes cardiothoracic anesthesiology, and he is a diplomate of the National Board of Echocardiography in advanced perioperative transesophageal echocardiography. Dr. McLoughlin serves as a director of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education and is a member of the Anesthesiology Residency Review Committee of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education Anesthesiology.

Dr. Deiner is the LeRoy Garth professor of anesthesiology at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center in New Hampshire and vice chair for research. She studies cognitive recovery in older surgical patients. She has served on the executive team for the American Society of Anesthesiology (ASA) Brain Health Ad-Hoc Committee and chaired the ASA Geriatric Abstracts Committee. Dr. Deiner has received a Levy Incubator Grant for DH-CARES to implement a community-based interdisciplinary program to assist older surgical patients.

Dr. Keegan is a professor of anesthesiology and a full-time clinician who works as a consultant anesthesiologist and intensivist in the operating rooms and intensive care units at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn. His research interests include the use of prognostic scoring systems in the intensive care unit and critical care of the liver transplant recipient. He serves on the Ethics and Professionalism Committee of the American Board of Medical Specialties. He has been honored with the Mayo Brothers Distinguished Fellowship Award and multiple critical care clinician of the year and teacher of the year awards. He has received the Mayo Critical Care Master Clinician and Educator Hall of Fame Awards and has twice received the Mayo Department of Anesthesia Distinguished Clinician Award.

The Board of Directors reelected Alex Macario, M.D., MBA, as secretary.

All Board of Director biographies and committee assignments are available to view here.